Michelle Wie Disqualified, Still Hot as HellOctober 17th, 2005 at 8:11 am by Preston Taylor Holmes
I’ve never had a favorite female golfer before. Now I do. Problem is, she’s only 16, so the older LPGA players still have time to rob her of her heterosexuality.
Anyway, she got DQ’d this weekend after finishing fourth in the Samsung World Championships in Palm Desert, California – and I’m not talking about the little-known sexual maneuver, the “Dairy Queen,” popular in small towns across the midwest. I’m talking disqualified. For an illegal ball-drop.
It was 40 minutes before play finished that a spectator told LPGA rules official Robert Smith that he thought Wie had dropped the ball nearer the hole when she had taken relief from an unplayable lie in a bush on the seventh hole of her third-round 71 on Saturday.
Minutes after she had completed her final-round 74, Smith took Wie and her caddie, Greg Johnston, back to the spot at the 470-yard hole and deemed that she had indeed taken an incorrect drop.
“It was 12 to 15 inches closer to the hole,” he explained. “Because of that, she broke Rule 20-7 and the penalty is two shots. But because she had not declared the penalty before she signed the scorecard, then I’m sad to say that it is a disqualification.
Typical LPGA tattletale fan. The fan was probably angry that there was an attractive woman allowed on the tour. Don’t sweat it, Michelle, you’ll still make gazillions in endorsements even if you pull a Kournikova and never win a title.
Debbie Schlussel has some more scoop on the Sports Illustrated reporter who was actually the one to tattle on Wie for dropping her ball incorrectly. Typical yellow journalist.